Maybe I”m an Owl

ID-100127392

Photo Credit

I don’t know why I can’t feel tired at the end of the night like the rest of overly exhausted mothers out there.  Maybe its the lure of the computer.  Or the realization that for the first time that day, the house is actually quiet.  Perhaps its a subconscious attempt to prove that  I’m still young.  I’ve still got it.  Only I’m not still young.  And I’m not sure I ever had it.

Whatever the reason, it’s not a good enough one.  I need sleep.  And lots of it.

Some people can go to bed at 1 am and still do well to wake up at 6 am.  I’m not one of them.  So what happens when I go to bed in the wee hours of the morning?  I sleep in, of course.  Remember my goal of getting out of bed before 8?  No, that wasn’t a typo.  Yes, I’m that mother.  Thankfully, my children also sleep in.

However, it’s not really in their best interest to wake up their mother.  It should be vice-versa.

I realize that in order to get a lot of things done, most organized homemakers use the early morning hours to their advantage.  They do laundry, clean the house, plan the day, and read their bible all before I get out of bed.   I want to be one of those moms.  I have dreams of  doing all those things.  I have dreams being in the kitchen happily making fun-shaped pancakes when my children first wake up.

I’ve tried to wake up earlier in my days of motherhood.  Really I have.  And for a while I succeeded.  That is until 12 noon when I fall asleep while reading to my boys.  Now, I will take into consideration that some people need more sleep, and according to my natural health professional, luckily {insert sarcasm} , I am one of those people.  My body simply will not run on a few hours of sleep.  I could just, throw my hands up in the air and be done with it.  But, remember, I want more.  And so, I need a different plan.

The owl has to go.  I’m going to have to learn, little by little, to drag my night owl self to bed.

My goal by the end of next year is to comfortably be waking up by 6:30.  I know that isn’t as early as a lot of Americans wake up, but seeing the fact that I really do need 8 hours of sleep, I don’t want to end my night before 10:30, its a realistic goal for me..  Night time is a great time for me and my husband to have some quality time together.  I really want to keep that time for us, so 6:30 is the earliest this gal will see sunlight.

When I’ve tried to wake up earlier in the past, I usually just set my alarm and go for it.  This time, I’m gonna try things sorta backwards.  I’m going to first focus on going to bed earlier, then on slowing increasing my wake-up time.  This way, I’m still making sure I’m getting the sleep my body needs. There will be some weeks that I focus on this more than others, but I will keep you updated at how well this new strategy works.  I will also give you any tips I find along the way.

Wish me luck!

What about you?  Are you an early bird, or can you relate to me as a night owl?  If anyone has any good tricks for transitioning from a night owl to an early bird?

About onmyway2organized

Liz is a homeschooling mom of two boys. She is married to the man she loves. Her life is bought and paid for by the blood of Christ, to which she is ever so humble and grateful for. She strives to eat healthfully, live simply, and love dearly.
This entry was posted in Organizing Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maybe I”m an Owl

  1. Pingback: Fridays Favorites: Morning Encouragement | On My Way To Organized

Leave a Reply

