Because Nothing Else Really Matters

ID-10015132

Photos credit (freedigitalphotos.net)

“Liz, can you come here for a moment?” my husband called from the hallway of our split-level home.

I looked up and saw the seriousness in his eyes.  What in the world?  What happened?  Did I do something? I knew the conversation was going to hold something heavy.  What it was, I couldn’t figure out.

I followed him into the bedroom, he sat on the edge of the bed and then proceeded to tell me.  “Tom” (I’ve changed the name), committed suicide.

I sank down beside him.  It couldn’t be true.  It just couldn’t.

Tom was an old high school friend of my husbands.  They were young and carefree.  They both liked to joke and laugh.  As senior year came to a close, my husband made  final arrangements to go off to a one year bible college. Tom made final arrangements for a wedding.

After a failed marriage, among other things, Tom and Jonathan found themselves on completely different paths.  Jonathan sought to know God more, Tom looked as if he was avoiding him.

Year after year, my husband would pray for Tom.  A year ago, as Tom pour his heart out about yet another heartbreak, my husband asked him to give his life to God.  Tom wasn’t sure if he even believed in God anymore.

Looking from the outside in, as I never knew Tom very well, he always appeared to be the guy with no hope.  The guy looking for hope in all the wrong places.  My heart went out to him one night as I showed him one of my favorite verses that happens to be tattoo’d on my foot.  “Behold the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world” I smiled.  But Tom didn’t see what there was to smile about.

Sitting, heavy-hearted, next to my  husband, it struck me once again  how fragile life is.  We don’t know when it will be taken from us and we don’t know when it will be taken from those we love either.  It’s times like this that point you back to the reality that “Nothing else but Christ matters.”  We are hopeless without him, and we need to remember that so is everyone else.  I spent the next few days seeing nothing but souls around me.  Praying that God would show Himself to them.

One way that God does that is through believers, like you and me.  We need to tell other about him.  About his love.  The love that drove him to the cross.  About his mercy that he pours on the broken.  About his Grace that he gives freely.  About his righteousness that he offers in exchange for our sinfulness.  “For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”  2 Corinthians 5:21   About his hope, that only he can give. We need to let everyone know that “Whoever call’s upon the name of the Lord, shall be saved.”  Romans 10:13

We can bake cookies and cook four course meals.  We can car-pool, volunteer, work hard, and keep a perfect organized house.  But in the end, nothing else really matters other than these two questions; Do you know Christ?  And are you sharing him?

About onmyway2organized

Liz is a homeschooling mom of two boys. She is married to the man she loves. Her life is bought and paid for by the blood of Christ, to which she is ever so humble and grateful for. She strives to eat healthfully, live simply, and love dearly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Because Nothing Else Really Matters

  1. lnfk says:

    We can bake cookies and cook four course meals. We can car-pool, volunteer, work hard, and keep a perfect organized house. But in the end, nothing else really matters other than these two questions; Do you know Christ? And are you sharing him?

    Just what I needed to read this morning. Thank you and God bless!

  2. proverb31girl says:

    So sad, but such a great post.

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Plan, Shop, Eat | On My Way To Organized

  4. Pingback: February’s Monthly Goals Update And March’s Goals | On My Way To Organized

Leave a Reply

