Psalm 18, again

This is actually a post I had written a long time ago when I had another blog.  Since it fits with the  “Faith Fridays” posts I thought I would share it here too!  I wrote it over a year ago so some of the referencing will be out-dated but the message is still the same 🙂

From My Life, My Expedition on June 21 2011

This past Sunday, our pastor spoke on Psalm 18. But me, being the highly distracted person I am, was having a hard time concentrating on what he was saying. Maybe it’s a lack of self-discipline, maybe it’s ADD – Whatever it is, the harder I tried to concentrate, the more distracted I became. I was even distracted by my concentration. Figure that one out for me, will ya?

Anyways, seeing that I had a hard time focusing then, I decide to read the Psalm this morning. Wow! What beauty there is in God’s word. In just the first few verses we learn that God is our strength, rock, fortress, deliverer, mountain of refuge, shield, salvation, stronghold and is worthy of praise. Hitting home that God is All in All.

“Worthy of praise”. The phrase struck me today differently. I’ve heard it, read it, heck – even sung it many times before this day. Yet, it strung a different heart cord as I meditated on it. God is worthy of praise. Worthy of it. Maybe it would help if it used my italics icon. Worthy. He is worthy of praise. See? (Makes it more clear, doesn’t it?) It isn’t that God just gets praised, or that he just wants our praise. He certainly doesn’t need our praise. But he is worthy of it. Sometimes, in my life, I find myself praising other people for the job they have done. I say something like “Good job! That was great!” And I think I’m making the other person feel better, appreciated. I’m assuring them that what they did was indeed good. But God knows he is good,. He doesn’t question if his work is good. He knows he is worthy of the praise. Honestly it’s about time we catch on the fact too.

In verses 4-19, is a beautiful word picture of God, in righteous anger, rescuing David from his enemies. It is really an intriguing thing this “righteous anger”. Whenever I think of anger, I think of me being scared, ashamed, guilty, or burning with hate. I grew up seeing anger fleshed out. Cross and line, even accidentally, and firer-y words spewed out, until I felt undeserving and unwanted. Sometimes I cringe inside when I read about God being angry. Afraid of the wrath. Yet, I have to remind myself, that God is not man. His anger is not that of what I have experienced. It is not out of control rage. It is not derived from hate or selfishness. I long to understand the concept of “righteous anger”. One thing I find interesting is that, in this psalm, God’s anger is in the context of God rescuing David from his enemies. I thought of a mother rushing to the aid of her child. How much I love my children; I would surly rescue them, and if needed, destroy any evil that tried to conquer their soul. Maybe, that is a first step of understanding this anger. And to think, that God would destroy evil in order to rescue us! Now that is something my heart can rejoice in.

Which brings me to the second half of verse 19 “He rescued me because He delighted in me.” Whoa! Whaaaat? God could delight in a human!?! Again, I thought of how much the mere presences of my children brings me delight. And because of Christ, we can be God’s children. I John 3:1 “Look at how great a love the Father has given us, that we should be called God’s children. And we are!…” How much He loves us! The more I learn about God, the more I’m amazed and the more my heart is touched. He is not flawed like us. He is perfection. He can’t be put in a box . The more I discover about him, I realize that there isn’t anything like him. He is the best of all things good. He is the One and only. He is worthy of my praise.

Psalm 86: 8-10 “Lord, there is no one like You among the gods, and there are no works like Yours. All the nations You have made will come and bow down before You, Lord, and will honor Your name. For You are great and perform wonders; You alone are God.”

 

That wraps up our Faith Friday’s Post for the month of February.  March will bring back our Favorite Fridays’s series.

How has God been working in your life lately?  It always great to hear what God is doing 🙂

About onmyway2organized

Liz is a homeschooling mom of two boys. She is married to the man she loves. Her life is bought and paid for by the blood of Christ, to which she is ever so humble and grateful for. She strives to eat healthfully, live simply, and love dearly.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Psalm 18, again

  1. Pingback: February’s Monthly Goals Update And March’s Goals | On My Way To Organized

Leave a Reply

