Book List for 2013

ID-10086796

Image courtesy of admar 

I’m a little behind is putting this up compared to others in the blog-o-sphere, but I still wanted to share it. Besides, comparing myself to others won’t do anything for me aside from make me feel inadequate.  Someone is always going to be doing something else better than I am.  The question is:  Am I making progress?  🙂

I enjoy reading, but it has never been something that I’ve purposed to do.  I usually say that I  “don’t have time” which is only halfway true, because we all have the same amount of time, I’ve just chosen to use it differently (or by not choosing-  waste it differently).  I usually get my of my majority of reading done in the summer when days are less filled with homeschooling.  Even then, though I have really enjoyed the books I’ve read, they haven’t been the ones that I always say “I want to read that, one day.”   I have lots of books in the “One day” category.

Last year I read mostly Christian fiction books.  I loved reading, and was known to get totally wrapped up in them.  While there is certainly nothing wrong with reading fiction books, I really wanted to make it more of a priority to read some of the Christian Living (non-fiction) books that I’ve been collecting for quite some time.

Here are the books that I want to read in 2013:

  1. Grace by Max Lucado  (I’ve actually finished this one already)
  2. The Gospel For Real Life by Jerry Bridges
  3. Peacemaking Women 
  4. God’s Love:  How the Infinite God Cares for His Children by R.C. Sproul
  5. Man, The Dwelling Place of God by A. W. Tozer
  6. Abide in Christ by Andrew Murray

There are a few others that I would like to read, but I’m first trying to focus on these six.

Here are some other books that I want to read:  (self-help, home management, ect)

  1. Naturally Knocked Up by Donielle Baker
  2. “Do What You Can” Plan by Holley Gerth
  3. 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life by Crystal Paine
  4. One Bite at a Time: 52 Projects to Making Life Simpler by Tsh Oxenreider 
  5. Attack Your Day!: Before It Attacks You! By Mark Woods and Trapper Woods
  6. Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job and Your Dream Job by John Acuff

And finally some Fiction books that I would like to read:

  1. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  2. Blue Christmas by Kiane Moody
  3. Past Suspicion by Therese Heckenkamp
  4. A Simple Amish Christmas by Vannetta Chapman
  5. A Tailor-Made Bride by Karen Witemeyer
  6. Stuck in the Middle by Virginia Smith

All of the fiction books are ones that I found for free on my kindle.  I’m not very familiar with the authors, so I may find that I don’t like them at all.  But for free, it’s worth a try!

What books are on your to read list?  Leave your link in the comments and I’ll be sure to take a look! 🙂

About onmyway2organized

Liz is a homeschooling mom of two boys. She is married to the man she loves. Her life is bought and paid for by the blood of Christ, to which she is ever so humble and grateful for. She strives to eat healthfully, live simply, and love dearly.
This entry was posted in Organizing Life, Organizing your time. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book List for 2013

  1. Kemi Quinn says:

    Hi Liz. Impressive reading list. I never seem to list my non-fiction that I’m reading. Usually a smattering of housekeeping books from bygone eras.
    On your fiction list I think I liked Karen Witemeyer. And of course Little Women.
    On your self-help I have Crystal’s 21 Days. She’s running a wake up early challenge right now. I’m failing but I mean to overcome the sleepyness!
    And then on the spiritual I often have to put them down and pick up the Bible. My mother did loan me The Healing Light which I made it through the first two chapters of.
    Let us know how you like each book.

    • Thanks for stopping by Kemi! I’ve spent some time on your blog, looking forward to the rest of your “5 days of teaching creatively”. Do you have a “best” housekeeping book or author you would recommend? I know what mean about putting down the spiritual book and picking up the Bible. God’s word is so important for us to read, no man can top that! Good luck with your early rise challenge. I’m a big fan of Crystal’s and I did notice the challenge. I’m working on getting up earlier, one day we will overcome:) haha!

      • Kemi Quinn says:

        You’re welcome Liz. I’m glad you’re enjoying my 5 Days of Teaching Creatively.

        There are soooo many home tip books. Here are my top 3 in my personal library.

        For cleaning I like Spring Cleaning by Jeff Campbell. It’s the details on how to clean your house. No fluff!

        For getting that busy mom life and home organized I read Emily Barnes. Her books are about getting it all done in an organized fashion. She also talks about home organizing checklists. She was writing about it before it was popular and her tips still stand today.

        For absolutely everything about homemaking I have Home Comforts by Cheryl Mendelson in my library. When I first got it I read it all the way through. It’s a great reference for anything you would want to know about housekeeping.

        Yes God’s Word never goes out of style.

        I know what you mean about overcoming. Whew! This is not an easy challenge but I feel so much better since starting it. Getting more done.

        I’m sorry you’re feeling so poorly (and that this comment is so long). Get well soon.

      • Thanks for the book recommendations! I’m gonna try and get my hands on a copy of Spring Cleaning and I already have Home Comforts on hold at the library. Can’t wait to take a look at them:) I”m feeling better now. My oldest son is still sick but he is the last of us so hopefully we will all be well after this for a while!

Leave a Reply

