Super Duper, Easy to Make, Laundry Deteregent

100_1510

Well, my Spring Cleaning Challenge isn’t going exactly how I had originally planned.  That’s ok, though!  Slowly I am checking of the things that I wanted to share with each of you.  Like last week, when I share my DIY flop.

This one isn’t a flop though.  Its fabulous!  I had always wondered about making your own laundry detergent.  I mean, come on, if it was easy to make, then it probably didn’t work well.  If it worked great your probably spent all day making it.  I’m not willing to sacrifice either, yet the idea still loomed in my head that I eventually decided to give this a shot.

Boy am I glad I did.  This recipe is easy to make and works great!  Plus, it’s very cost effective!  Whoo hoo!  By George, I think I’m on to something 🙂

I got the recipe off my pintrest page.  (Recipe originated here).  I halved it because by golly that’s a large amount of detergent and I didn’t have anything on hand to hold it all.  Plus now I have some left overs of these other products to make something else with!

UPDATE:  I almost forgot the backing soda!  1/2 of box (of a 2lb box)

Start with 1/2 a box of borax

100_1505

Then mix in 1/2 box of super washing soda

100_1508

One small container of Oxi Clean

100_1507

1 and 1/2 Felts Napa Bars grated

100_1509

Looks like cheese, doesn’t it?  🙂

UPDATE:  I almost forgot the baking soda!  1/2 of box (of a 2lb box)

Mix it all up and there you have it!

You only use one TABLESPOON per load.  Pretty awesome, huh?

I found all of the ingredients  in the laundry isle of my local Wal-mart.  I can’t remember exactly but I think I paid about $10 for all of it.   You might not be able to tell but that is a very large chip bowl and I’m guessing this amount will last me about 6 months.

How does it work?  Pretty stinking awesome.  I actually think this is working better then what I was using!

Have you ever made your own cleaning product?  Did it work?

About onmyway2organized

Liz is a homeschooling mom of two boys. She is married to the man she loves. Her life is bought and paid for by the blood of Christ, to which she is ever so humble and grateful for. She strives to eat healthfully, live simply, and love dearly.
This entry was posted in Cleaning tips and tricks, DIY, Spring Cleaning Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

