God is not dead, nor doth he sleep

"Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net".

“Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net”.

Each year I pick out a Christmas song for the season.  The year that our life was in the midst of uncertainty, with my husband without work, his brother dreadfully sick, and our family of four living with my in-laws, I choose the song “So, this is Chirstmas.”  It didn’t feel like Christmas that year.  It didn’t even smell like it.  When my children started sharing my love of Christmas music we chose “Feliz Navida”  They still love that song, even thought they can’t pronounce half the words.

Last year, a couple short weeks before Christmas  20 little lives were taken much to quickly.  The world was in shock.  They were just children.  The suspect?  Barely an adult.

And in despair I bowed my head:
“There is no peace on earth,” I said,
“For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good will to men.”

(From I heard the Bells on Christmas day)

It seamed to fit so well.  This song that Henry Wadsworth Longfellow penned so long ago. America was in, is in despair.  What have we done with ourselves?  What have we come to?   I don’t have all the answers.  Answers to what makes a 20 year old boy, lose all hope , burn with hate so strongly that he steals the innocence of not only the lives that he took, but the lives that still have to go on.

I’ve written openly about how I’ve lost three (and now four) babies and the tears and pain that surfaces so quickly   Yet, I can’t bring myself to imagine the pain those parents are going through.  Even the thought seams too painful when it surfaces to my mind.

In only a short matter of time the internet went wild with accusations.   Who could have stopped this?  Where was God?

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth he sleep;
The wrong shall fail, the right prevail,
With peace on earth, good will to men.”

I can’t tell you why God allowed this to happen.  I’m not God.  I don’t think that is the right question anyways. The questions that keeps burning in my mind is why don’t we see that something is desperately wrong with us?  Why don’t we see that we need saved from ourselves; our own sin?

God is not dead, nor doth he sleep.  He is here, He was there. I recognize that its easy for me to spew out these words. After all, I was nowhere near Sandy Hook Elementary School, that dreadful day. Yet I do know that,  sometimes, when we don’t have answers to the questions that well up in our soul, the only option is to tell ourselves what we do know. We know that “God is love.”  We know that “God is faithful“.  With sadness,  we acknowledge that the boy who lost hope and stole it from others, has hope no more.  But just as true is the fact that we have hope right now.  We have hope of a savior-Jesus Christ, who though God, came down as man to offer his life as the sinless sacrifice for our sin.  We have hope that all who believe on him will be saved.  Romans 10:13  “Whosoever shall call upon the name of the LORD shall be saved.”  Romans 5:1-3  “Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance”

We have security in that God is our hope.

Psalm 62:5
For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.

Psalm 65:5
By awesome deeds you answer us with righteousness, O God of our salvation, the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas;

Romans 5:5
and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

We have hope that one day, the wrong shall fail, the right prevail, with peace on earth good will to men.

About onmyway2organized

Liz is a homeschooling mom of two boys. She is married to the man she loves. Her life is bought and paid for by the blood of Christ, to which she is ever so humble and grateful for. She strives to eat healthfully, live simply, and love dearly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

